Introducing bilingual story time!

I live in the small town of Clayton, North Carolina and have been here for a little over a week. Already I’m feeling restless and somewhat homesick for the Mile High City. I miss the culture, diversity, friendly and familiar faces.

Bug and I decided to take a stroll through downtown Clayton today, a small and cute as heck main street. We came across the Clayton Library that’s quite small but it packs a punch in the cuteness factor. Bug got into a computer game right away so I decided to waste not time and ask the library director if they had bilingual story time. They didn’t and I quickly asked if she would ever be interested in hosting one and she replied..”I don’t speak Spanish.” Insert smiley face from me. I quickly replied and said that I was fluent and was interested in bringing a bilingual story time for toddlers and pre-schoolers. She was more than excited about it and I start in July!

This will be a volunteer position for me but what a thrill to bring cultura y el idioma de espaƱol para la poblacion de Clayton. Plus I think this will be a great way for bug and I to get a acquainted and meet some other mothers and children in our community.

The moral to my story here is that I need to get involved in the community and bring some much-needed cultura to my new home.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bignuts
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 19:41:20

    Sweet Val….I knew you’d find your niches in your new world….good for you!

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:08:27

    You are one amazing lady! To put yourself out there and get something started that the community and families really need is great Tina. This may be the key to meeting new moms and play mates for William. Keep putting yourself out there and you will reep the rewards :).

    Reply

  3. Beatriz
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 19:45:47

    This is a PROUD mama. My girls is doing what is right for her and for the world. Way to go, girl!

    Reply

  4. anaba
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 13:31:36

    Awesome idea!!! We have a great bilingual program at our local library and totally support public libraries!!!
    You got to get your latino mama group in there!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

