Pine cone Christmas tree craft

Pine Cone

Pine Cone Christmas Tree

My first Pinterest crafting project was a pine cone Christmas tree. I obsessed over this craft that I first discovered while browsing for Holiday ideas on Pinterest. I repined and liked instantly. Of course I thought to myself, “I can do this, it will be so easy.”

And so I began my crafty project of the season. Since I live in North Carolina getting pine cones wasn’t a problem. I went for hikes and had a couple of neighbors round some up for me. Pine cones are plentiful and diverse in size and color here in NC.

Since there wasn’t a tutorial on the link I did some research of my own and based on a couple of sites I visited I came up with my own game plan.

 Materials used

Plenty of Pine cones. preferably small ones

2 Styrofoam: Cone shapes or any shape you want

1 package of glue sticks

1 Hot glue gun

1 can of brown or brownish spray paint

Pine Cone Christmas Tree Craft

Directions

1)   First I went through the pine cones and picked out the smallest ones. I thought they would be easiest for gluing together.

2)   I sprayed the cones with the brown spray paint. (this doesn’t work so well)

3)   I simply started from the bottom up.  I glued the pinecones on length wise and completed the circle.

4)   I continued the same pattern being careful to overlap the lines. I thought this would provide more coverage.

5)   Toward the top of the cone I got the idea to break apart a few pine cones and simply layer the little pieces to the foam. This provided a really cool layered look and could be an option for coverage instead of spray paint.

As you can see my artwork doesn’t look quite like the ones in the magazine pictures but there is a learning curve right? I ended up using the decoration for a center piece on my screened in porch. I did get some compliments from my supportive neighborhood gal pals but I did learn a few things along the way.

Pine Cone Christmas Tree Craft

Lessons learned

- Do break apart the pine cone. I really liked the layered effect created by the little pieces.

-Do give the glue a few seconds to cool before putting the pine cone on. This gave it a stronger bond.

- Next time get smaller pine cones.

- Hot glue cones from the bottoms out.  This will provide ample coverage. (like the picture on my For The Home Board on Pinterest.

-Don’t use

spray paint on foam. It doesn’t work.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melitsa
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 04:25:24

    Looks like you had a whole bunch of fun. Bet is smells nice :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

