New adventures

We spent the last week in Raleigh, NC looking at houses. I really thought I wanted to live in downtown Raleigh and if we could afford it we probably would. The downtown urban neighborhoods are  charming but expensive.

We looked at several areas in north east Raleigh that were recommended, but we just didn’t find the right floor plan or neighborhood. We also looked in the infamous Heritage development in Wake Forest. The homes were beautiful but again the houses are sandwiched in and we were shocked by sticker price. The homes we liked were over $400,000 and that was just too much money for not having a yard. I know that we would have met friends very easily there but we really wanted to have a backyard for our son and our two dogs.

I didn’t think I wanted to live in Clayton, NC but that’s where we found our home. It will take some time for me to get used to a slower pace of  life but our neighborhood is great and our house is great. I’ll miss our urban lifestyle but I also think it’s time we slow down a bit and focus on other parts of our life…like us. We bought our place in the Flowers Plantation development, an old historic tobacco plantation turned neighborhood. Plus who could resist the mini country club we have on site? You have to check out the Pineville Club, It’s much different from what I’m used to but I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it. I can still ride my bike everywhere but I don’t have to worry so much about traffic. The school bug will  go to is terrific and just a stone throw away.  Clayton isn’t as crowded a city like Wake Forest or Rollesville and Knightdale nor does it have the strip malls but I guess that is part of what’s cool about it.

I’m excited to get to know the town and maximize what it has to offer. It’s a small town with a lot of history and farming but it’s staring to grow. I welcome your comments and experience about living in Clayton.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 07:26:58

    LOVE the house, and the blog-keep up with it woman!

    Reply

  2. Melitsa
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 07:28:33

    Sounds like you’re getting your head around everything Val. You’re rolling with things a lot better than I ever did.
    So do you get a whiff of Tobacco at all then……..

    Reply

Leave a comment