Palabra de la semana: Manzana

This week we went with a word we already use and know in our family vocabulary but you can never practice enough. I love the word Manzana en Español (apple) because kids and adults alike can practice their pronunciation.

Here is what my son did...I'm such a proud mama.

Instead of a family project we went upstairs to  his bedroom and played around on his chalkboard wall for about a half hour. I wrote the apple out  and had him practice right next to mine. Then as animated as I could be I said “ahora cual es la palabra en español?” and he shouted “MANZANA!” It’s important when teaching kids to be animated and keep it fun. When the fun gets squeezed out of the picture you’re going to lose interest. I only say this because it’s happened to me. I get to serious with bug and he simply gets frustrated.

After we practiced the English words he watched as I wrote the word in Spanish (Manzana). Another thought to keep in mind is to  also say letters in Spanish and English as you go,  so your children  can continue to practice the alphabet in both languages.

I really encourage parents no matter what your second language is to interject words into your vocabulary.  Your children will love picking up a second language.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valen's Blog
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 09:28:42

    Gracias chica!

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 11:50:29

    Me gusto mucho!! Keep it up momma!! 🙂 Te amo, Mels

    Reply

Leave a Reply

