Make us the Deep Fried Ambassadors: My Fair Ladies -The Wrangler Edition

My Fair Ladies

If one one deep fried ambassador is good imagine how tasty 3 would be! Giving you three unique perspectives on the 2011 NC State Fair, we three fabulous ladies will cover the full gamut of food, rides, entertainment, competitions, exhibits and fun “only at the Fair” odd bits. Telling the story through photos, videos and, of course, wildly entertaining words, this gaggle of gals is sure to make everyone want to come out to the Fair.

  • The Kamikaze – aka Rebecca Aslaksen – Nothing stops this Fair enthusiast. No food will be left uneaten, no ride unridden. Put a plate before her and she will devour it. Beat: Food & Rides
  • Fairly Odd – aka Dawn Crawford – Fun just got a little funky at the State Fair. Get a backstage look at the music, the best of our state’s produce and livestock and side-shows. Exploring the entertaining, wacky and downright odd parts of the Fair. Beat: Competitions & Entertainment
  • The Wrangler – aka ME! Valentina Garcia Gerdes from Worldview Mother – Armed with sunscreen, family meet-up points and a purse of non-sugary snacks, this mom knows how to make the Fair fun for all ages. Beat: Family Activities & Exhibits

And here is my story of why I want to be a Deep Fried Ambassador:
I’m always looking for awesome adventures with my family. The State Fair holds a treasure of fun, out of the ordinary activities. My goal as The Wrangler blogger for the 2011 NC State Fair blog will be to inspire families to kick-up their heels and venture off the beaten path.

If I didn’t step out of my ordinary suburban life every now and then I would seriously loose my mind. I’m a sucker for all things Americana and I get a nostalgic feeling when I get around the smell of a state fair.

I don’t really know what draws me to seek unique cultural experiences like the state fair. Perhaps it a combination of my Latin roots and coming to the United States at such a young age, but I am drawn to these learning and growing opportunities, especially when it comes to my local community.  As a journalist by nature and trade, I am compelled to help others find out about what is current and happening in their local environment. That’s why I want to be The Wrangler mom and a Deep Fried Ambassador.  And I want to encourage families to venture off their beaten path, to step out of your box and get out of their daily life activities and into something fun and exciting.

I live in Johnston County, in Clayton to be exact, and relocated here from Denver, Colorado just last year. I’m a Latina with Midwest upbringing and a mountain heart.  And I credit my background with my zest for learning through others.
I’ve only lived in North Carolina for a year but already feel like a local. Armed with my new and shiny GPS, my vivacious 5-year-old and my iPhone we ventured out pretty quickly.  Within my first month in the Triangle we had experienced to the Museum of Life and Sciences in Durham, Marbles Children’s Museum and the NC State Farmers Market. Not to mention the beaches!!

People tell me I’m so brave to venture out so quickly but really I’m just curious and want to experience all that North Carolina has to offer. I’m a mom on the go and proud of it.  Plus, as I mentioned before, I would loose my mind if I didn’t learn something new and exciting on a frequent basis.

When you roll up my life experience you’ll find a journalist, a mother, and a socially driven communicator. I can’t wait to be the Deep Fried Ambassodor!! And it’s okay to eat cotton candy for dinner every once in a while. It’s going to be okay.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IdeasInBloom (@IdeasInBloom1)
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 09:40:06

    This will be our first year at the NC State Fair. The kids are so exicted to go, but I am a little intimidated. I would love to hear your perspective as a mom.

    Reply

  2. IdeasInBloom (@IdeasInBloom1)
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 09:37:57

    This will be our first year at the NC State Fair. I am very excited to hear about your perspective as a mom and what to do with the kids!

    Reply

  3. Melodie Wilcox
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 18:03:58

    Going to the State Fair is a tradition in my family the grandparents even tag along. However, every year we always wonder what to do, see, and of course eat. I would love to have the point of view of three different people to find out what the 2011 State Fair has to offer.

    Reply

  4. Melodie Wilcox
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 16:01:41

    Going to the State Fair is definitely a tradition in my family, the grandparents even tag along. However, once we get there we always wonder what we should do, see, and most importantly eat. I would love to have three different points of view on what the 2011 State Fair has to offer.

    Reply

  5. Francine Price
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 07:56:48

    We are excited to take our ” almost 6 year old” to the Fair this year. We have missed it the last 2 years. We really do want to go, but hear so many different opinions on what we should do and the food and what we would each enjoy .I would love some more in- depth information. I can’t wait to hear more!

    Reply

  6. Angela
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 02:41:21

    3 Vantage points will be great! I am especially interested in those “only at the fair” experiences. Something beyond the deep fried food. Looking to create memories with my 5 year old son and husband that are more than rides and food. I have a feeling this trio of ladies will be able to guide me!

    Reply

  7. Liz Phipps
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 21:07:12

    We go every year to the fair and enjoy all that it has to offer. I am most definitely interested in the non-sugary snacks!! Be ready with your walking gear.

    Reply

  8. jill leary
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 19:40:44

    Looking forward to hearing about the family fair activities I might miss. I love the fair and hope for Max, my 5 year old, to have the best memories ever!!! I will be waiting to hear the “best” of FAIR 2011!!!!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Make Us the Deep Fried Ambassadors – My Fair Ladies: Fairly Odd Edition » Wander South - Travel, Food, Shopping, Culture, Fun, Sweet Tea & Hot Sauce

Leave a Reply

